Company

Founded in 2002, Wagner, Elbling & Company is a consultancy specialized in the European natural gas industry with substantial expertise in all related topics.

History

Wagner, Elbling & Company was founded by Albrecht Wagner and Oliver Elbling after already long-time consultancy work in 2002.

Based on the expertise from the first implementation of the 2. EU energy package and the associated market opening in Austria the scope of consulting services was quickly extended to other countries. Like in Austria, Wagner, Elbling & Company supported – and supports – major players in the natural gas industry when designing and implementing gas market liberalization in Europe.

Starting from design and implementation of network access models and the following unbundling of independent network operators and central market roles, the pool of services was rapidly extended to trading and distribution with focus on Germany and Central Europe.

Given the track record in designing and developing network access, balancing models and virtual trading points, Wagner, Elbling & Company evolved as the top address when implementing load forecasting, transport, balancing group management and for the adaption and renegotiation purchase and supply contracts. Responding to the development of the energy markets and related customer queries, the range of services was gradually extended to procurement and portfolio management, product strategy, development, pricing and valuation and asset management based on mathematical methods (gas power plants, gas storages, long term supply contracts).

The profound expertise related to market-based storage valuation and management and the experience in implementing operational transport management designates Wagner, Elbling & Company as a competent contact for storage operators when addressing product design, pricing or implementation of operating models and systems.

    Wagner, Elbling & Company 2016

Unternehmen

Im Jahr 2002 gegründet, ist Wagner, Elbling & Company heute ein auf die europäische Erdgasindustrie spezialisiertes Unternehmen, dessen Beratungserfahrung das gesamte Spektrum an dabei relevanten Themengebieten abdeckt.

Historie

Wagner, Elbling & Company wurde im Jahr 2002 nach bereits langjähriger Beratungstätigkeit für die österreichische Gasindustrie von den Namensgebern Dr. Albrecht Wagner und Mag. Oliver Elbling gegründet.

Auf Basis der Expertise aus der europaweit ersten Umsetzung des 2. EU-Energiepakets und der damit verbundenen vollständigen Marktöffnung in Österreich, entwickelte sich der Tätigkeitsbereich rasch weit über Österreich hinaus. Wie auch in Österreich war – und ist – Wagner, Elbling & Company für die führenden Unternehmen der Gasindustrie in der schrittweisen Gestaltung und Umsetzung der Gasmarktliberalisierung in Europa tätig.

Ausgehend von der Detailkonzeption und Umsetzung von Netzzugangsmodellen sowie der organisatorischen und rechtlichen Etablierung unabhängiger Netzbetreiber und zentraler Marktrollen, erweiterte sich das Klientenspektrum rasch in Richtung Handel und Vertrieb mit einem Schwerpunkt in Deutschland und Mitteleuropa.

Aufgrund der Ausgestaltung von Netzzugangsmodellen, Bilanzierungssystemen und virtuellen Handelspunkten entwickelte sich Wagner, Elbling & Company zur ersten Adresse für die händlerseitige Umsetzung von Prognose, Transport- und Bilanzgruppenmanagement und die abwicklungstechnische und preisliche Anpassung von Bezugs- und Lieferverträgen. Als Antwort auf die Entwicklung der Energiemärkte und diesbezügliche Kundenanfragen wurde das Leistungsspektrum sukzessive auf Beschaffung/Portfoliomanagement, Produktstrategie, -entwicklung, -bepreisung und -bewertung und Asset-Bewirtschaftung (Gaskraftwerke, Gasspeicher, Langfristverträge) mit u.a. mathematischen Methoden ausgeweitet.

Die Expertise aus der marktbezogenen Speicherbewertung und -bewirtschaftung und die Umsetzungserfahrung im Bereich der operativen Transportabwicklung machten Wagner, Elbling & Company auch zu kompetenten Ansprechpartner von Speicherunternehmen in Produktgestaltung, -bepreisung und der Implementierung von eigenen Abwicklungssystemen.

    Wagner, Elbling & Company 2016